About Me

Hello – this is just my blog full of random ramblings and other crazy stuff. I am a middle-grade, young adult, and urban fantasy author. I absolutely love anything fantasy – from witches to shapeshifters, vampires to gargoyles, superheroes to mythological gods. I studied journalism, English, culinary arts, business, and creative writing in college. Music is my ultimate muse.

I’m part of the One Book Two Review Blog – https://onebooktwo.wordpress.com/ – and if you’d like to request one of us, please feel free to browse the site. My book request wish list and a few other preferences are listed below!

You can contact me here at the blog anytime. I have a couple other links as well from other things I like.

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/7632433-tara-day

Twitter: Follow @TaraDay1019

I’ve been published in CC&D magazine by Scars Publications. You can find me here http://scars.tv/cgi-bin/framesmain.pl?writers among hundreds of excellent prose & poetry writers. The piece is called “Rave” and it is based on a scene from the second installment of my young adult series, West. 

*Book Request Wish List/Preferences* (this is for One Book Two)

I love all genres of fantasy/sci-fi, and sub-genres. Middle-grade, Young Adult, New Adult, Urban Fantasy, Sci-Fi/Space Opera, Paranormal Romance, Steampunk, Dark Fantasy, Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic.

What I’m looking for – Superheroes; male narrators with spunk, bloodlust, humorous perviness, and your average goofballs, no matter what age; science-nerds (any genders) think Big Bang Theory or Sherlock Holmes or Artemis Fowl; I’d love to get a clone story in my inbox; I find it hard to say no to necromancers, so long as they’re not cliche; a romance story that’s not BDSM and/or physically/mentally abusive; vampires akin to Kim Harrison or Jocelynn Drake style; a great historical fantasy in the vein of D.B. Jackson, Libba Bray, or a great WW2/American Revolution fantasy; fairy tale retellings that haven’t been overdone; I love high fantasy so long as the world building is great and the exposition is not dropped in the beginning; I do like zombies but I’d like a fresh take over the standard Walking Dead idea (think Susan Dennard & Jonathan Maberry);  rich dystopian/utopian worlds that feel real; and I’ll take a great comical fantasy any day, something unusual and quirky.

Top Lists of Stuff I Like: 

SONGS:
1. Best Of You – Foo Fighters
2. Unwritten – Natasha Bedingfield
3. Take Me Home Tonight – Eddie Money
4. One Light – 3 Doors Down
5. Point Of No Return – Starset

BANDS: (TOP 10)
1. Starset
2. 3 Doors Down
3. Thousand Foot Krutch
4. Breaking Benjamin
5. Red
6. Safetysuit
7. Evanescence
8. Nickelback
9. Daughtry
10. My Darkest Days

AUTHORS (Top 7):
1. Kim Harrison
2. CJ Redwine
3. J.K. Rowling
4. Jennifer Estep
5. Jocelynn Drake
6. Alex Hughes

WRITING INFLUENCES:
1. J.K. Rowling
2. Kim Harrison
3. Butch Hartman
4. CJ Redwine
5. Scott Westerfeld

My personal theme song – Unwritten by Natasha Bedingfield

Top Ten Favorite Marvel Superheroes:
1. Satana
2. Human Torch
3. Fantomex
4. Wasp
5. Mystique
6. Songbird
7. Falcon
8. Constrictor
9. Elektra
10. Enchantress

Top Five Favorite DC Superheroes (Sorry, I’m a Marvel girl):
1. Red Hood
2. Zatanna
3. Huntress
4. Catwoman
5. Green Arrow

YA CHARACTER CRUSHES:

1. Logan McEntire from the Courier’s Daughter trilogy by CJ Redwine
2. Jack Grammar from 24 Girls In 7 Days by Alex Bradley

URBAN FANTASY CHARACTER CRUSHES

1. Ravirn “Raven” from the WebMage series by Kelly McCullough
2. Tristan from the Dark Days series by Jocelynn Drake
3. Trent Kalamack from The Hollows series by Kim Harrison

Top 3 Favorite Action Movies:
1. Live Free or Die Hard
2.The Fifth Element
3. The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Top 3 Favorite Romantic Comedies:
1. This Means War
2. Sorority Boys
3. Fired UP

Top 3 Favorite Superhero Movies:
1. The Avengers
2. Ant-Man
3. Fantastic Four (the original w/ Chris Evans, Jessica Alba, etc.)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s